top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Alumni Spotlight: LaShae Johnson

National American University alumna LaShae Johnson shares how having a professor who cared, positively impacted her educational journey.


LaShae Johnson received an associate degree in professional legal services and a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from National American University. She is a six-year veteran of the United States Army and owns her own small business, a credit repair company, while also taking care of her family.


HOW WAS YOUR EXPERIENCE STUDYING ONLINE?

It was definitely different from what I had been used to. And I honestly had no idea how I would get through it considering that most of my previous education was face-to-face. Once I learned how to navigate through the portals and speaking to my teachers, I found them to be accessible and understanding that I am also a working parent, as well as having to do my motherly duties after work. My professors were very helpful in working with me, even if I had to turn in an assignment late. They were there, they understood that this is a world that does not stop, but also showed that passion of wanting to see me succeed.


IS THERE A SPECIFIC MEMORY THAT STANDS OUT TO YOU ABOUT YOUR EXPERIENCE AT NAU?

It is what I would say is a bittersweet moment. We had just begun the course for that semester and my grandfather passed away. And not even a couple of weeks later my brother passed. I was struggling with my course work and missing a lot of days. I remember, the instructor reached out to me because I had completely given up on school. And she said, ‘I refuse to see you fail. You’ve come so far.’ To know I still had somebody who cared, to see me push through in spite of everything that was going on, and to still say, “hey, it’s just a little bump in the road, you’re going to get it, I just need you to refocus.” And that was a turning point for me, to know that someone still cared about, not just my schoolwork, but my personal life as well. I managed to push through and came out with three A’s that semester. I was like, “oh gosh, how did this happen with me constantly being gone and not being in class” and it was a real turning point for me – not just with how I view life but how I view NAU staff.


WHAT ARE YOUR CAREER GOALS?

Right now I’m in the process of re-enrolling at NAU. There’s something about always being able to be more knowledgeable in a field. And absolutely, I’ve said it before. I love the staff and I’m ready to jump back in and see what else I can get under my belt.


CLICK BELOW TO WATCH THE FULL INTERVIEW WITH LASHAE!



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

NAU Alumni Spotlight: Teresa H. - Management

National American University (NAU) alumna Teresa H. earned her associate degree in Management in 2019. Since this interview, she has also completed her bachelor’s degree in Management. Teresa said tha

bottom of page